Five Maharashtra seats, including Nitin Gadkari’s Nagpur, to vote in first phase | Latest News India

Of Maharashtra’s 48 Lok Sabha constituencies, as many as five will go to polls on Friday in the first of seven phase-general elections. In the first phase, 96 other seats across another 20 states/Union territories will vote, marking the beginning of the world’s largest democratic exercise.

Union minister Nitin Gadkari. (File Photo)

In the 543-member Lok Sabha, Maharashtra has 48 seats, the highest after Uttar Pradesh (80). The counting of votes for all 543 seats will be held on June 4, three days after the seventh and final leg polling.

Which six Maharashtra seats are polling in phase 1?

HT launches Crick-it, a one stop destination to catch Cricket, anytime, anywhere. Explore now!

Union minister Nitin Gadkari is in fray from his home turf of Nagpur, which is also the headquarters of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), the ideological mentor to the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Gadkari is eyeing a hattrick of wins from Nagpur.

Another high-profile candidate is Sudhir Mungantiwar, a minister in the BJP-led Maharashtra government. Mungantiwar is standing from Chandrapur.

Sunil Mendhe, the saffron party’s sitting MP from Bhandara-Gondiya, is on ticket this time as well.

Of the five constituencies polling in the first leg, the BJP is fighting on four, and its ally, chief minister Eknath Shinde’s Shiv Sena, on one. Their primary challengers is the opposition Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) alliance of the Congress, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), and Shiv Sena (Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray). Prakash Ambedkar-led Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA), meanwhile, is contesting on two of the seats.

Constituency BJP/Shiv Sena candidate MVA candidate VBA candidate
Ramtek Raju Devnath Parwe (Shiv Sena) Shyamkumar Dault Barve (Congress)
Nagpur Nitin Gadkari Vikas Thakare (Congress)
Bhandara-Gondiya Sunil Mendhe Dr Prashant Yadavrao Padole
Gadchiroli-Chimur Ashok Nete Dr Namdeo Dasaram Kirsan Hitesh Pandurang Madavi
Chandrapur Sudhir Mungantiwar Pratibha Dhanorkar Rajesh Warluji Bele

Discover the complete story of India’s general elections on our exclusive Elections Product! Access all the content absolutely free on the HT App. Download now!
Get Current Updates on India News, Lok Sabha Election 2024 live, Infosys Q4 Results Live, Elections 2024, Election 2024 Date along with Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the world.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *