Polling underway in Nagaland for 18th Lok Sabha; no misconduct reported

First time voters from Mokokchung (Left) and Wokha (Right) after exercising their adult franchise on 19th April 2024

Polling began at 7:00 am on Friday in Nagaland Parliamentary Constituency for electing the State’s representative to the 18th Lok Sabha. Congress candidate S Supongmeren Jamir cast his vote at Polling Station No.6 at Mongoya Assembly Constituency in Mokokchung district, PDA candidate Dr Chumben Murry cast his vote at Polling Station no.9 at 38 Wokha A/C in Wokha district while unconfirmed reports state that Independent candidate Hayithung Tungoe Lotha cast his vote in Dimapur.

Speaking to Nagaland tribune after casting his vote, Dr Murry exuded confidence of a comfortable win. He stated that information is pouring from all over the state that they are doing good and said, “the feeling is that we will not get less than 70%.




Dr Murry remarked that people of Nagaland have realized that it is wrong of the Congress to use the religious card and accusing BJP of being an anti-Christian Party. He further accused the Congress of planning to making a law to legalize homosexuality.

In Mokokchung Congress and INDIA bloc consensus candidate Supongmeren Jamir reiterated that Dr Murry is a “very fine gentleman” but his Party is wrong. Jamir maintained that the BJP intends to implement Uniform Civil Code (UCC) which directly threatens Article 371 (A) given to the Naga people by the Constitution and therefore threatens the Naga customs and religion, so Jamir said that discussing religion is “very relevant”.

On the ENPO abstaining from voting today, Jamir expressed regret and affirmed that the Congress supports them in their fight for justice. He told Nagaland Tribune said that nearly 4 lakh voters of Eastern Nagaland not taking part in the electoral process will definitely impact the Congress vote bank, however, showing their resentment today is of more priority, Jamir stated.

The Congress candidate also said he was “very confident” of winning and that “Whoever wins will be the decision of the people”.

Members of Nagaland Legislative Assembly have also cast their votes from their respective constituencies including Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, Deputy CM Yanthungo Patton, Minister Salhoutuonuo Kruse, etc.

Till the filing of this report, no untoward incidents have been reported from across the state.

In Eastern Nagaland, where indefinite total shutdown is in effect, citizens have chosen to stay silent in solidarity with ENPO.

Meanwhile in Aboi, Mon district where indefinite total shutdown is in place, a group of youth gathered at the residence of the BJP Spokesperson, Ngampa Konyak where they appealed the BJP leader and also MLA Manpon Konyak to remain at their residences until 5:00 pm today.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *