Residents Of Some TN Villages Boycott Polls, Cast Nil Vote In Certain Booths

In a reflection of deep-seated discontent, some villages in Tamil Nadu have decided to boycott the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. In some areas in Cuddalore and Kanchipuram districts, residents have abstained from voting as a sign of protest. In Cuddalore, three villages have completely boycotted the polls, refraining from casting any votes whatsoever. Similarly, three other villages in Kanchipuram have only witnessed 9 votes, all from government officials.

Tamil Nadu is voting on Friday to select 39 MPs for the Lok Sabha.

In Cuddalore parliamentary constituency, the residents of three villages staged a complete boycott of the Lok Sabha Elections 2024, resulting in not a single vote being recorded. The three villages include S Eripalayam of Panruti Assembly constituency, Viruthagirikuppam and Mummudichozhagan village of Virudhachalam Assembly seat. 

The residents of Mummudichozhgan village decided to boycott the polls as a form of protest against land acquisition for expansion of Neyveli Lignite Corporation India Limited in Cuddalore district. 

The residents of Ekanampuram and Nagapattu villages, situated near the proposed Parandur airport project, earlier declared a boycott of the upcoming Lok Sabha Elections 2024. As a result of a decisive stand, the villagers have cast only nine votes thus far in Ekanampuram. All the more, all nine votes were registered by government officials highlighting the absence of community participation in the electoral process.

 In Nagapattu village, the boycott sentiment is particularly pronounced, with not a single vote registered as of yet.

ALSO READ: Nitin Gadkari To Kiren Rijiju: 9 Union Ministers Set To Test Their Electoral Fate In LS Polls Phase 1 Voting

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *