Voting for 5 Lok Sabha seats in Assam underway, 35 candidates in fray

First Published: 19th April, 2024 10:14 IST

Voting has begun at 7 am in 10,001 polling booths across Assam.

Voting for 5 seats in Assam in the first phase of the 18th Lok Sabha elections is underway.

The 5 Parliamentary constituencies where voting is underway are– Dibrugarh, Jorhat, Sonitpur, Lakhimpur and Kaziranga.

Voting has begun at 7 am in 10,001 polling booths across Assam. 

Over 8.647 million people, comprising 4.364 million women who outnumber 4.282 million men and 123 third gender will decide the fate of 35 candidates in the fray.

Of the 5 seats, Jorhat and the Dibrugarh seat are witnessing a tough fight.

Here is the full list of constituency-wise candidates in the fray:
Jorhat Lok Sabha seat:

  1. Former MP and Congress leader Gaurav Gogoi
  2. Tapon Kumar Gogoi of BJP
  3. Raj Kumar Duwara (Independent)
  4. Arun Chandra Handique of Ekam Sanatan Bharat Dal
    Kaziranga Lok Sabha seat:
  5. Kamakhya Prasad Tasa of BJP
  6. Roselina Trikey of Congress
  7. Salim Ahmed of Asom Jana Morcha
  8. Saleh Ahmed Mazumdar of the Republican Party of India (Athawale)
  9. Anim Dekha Gupta of Voters Party International
  10. Tridiv Jyoti Bhuyan (Independent)
  11. Jyotishka Ranjan Goswami (Independent)
  12. Abdul Hoque (Independent)
  13. Diluwara Begum Chowdhury (Independent)
  14. Binod Gogoi (Independent)
  15. Sailen Ch Malakar of Bharatiya Gana Parishad
    Dibrugarh Lok Sabha seat:
  16. Union Minister and former Assam CM Sarbananda Sonowal
  17. Lurinjyoti Gogoi of Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP)
  18. Manoj Dhanowar of AAP

Sonitpur Lok Sabha seat:

  1. Rinku Roy of Gana Suraksha Party (GSP)
  2. Alam Ali of Bahujan Maha Party
  3. Raju Deuri of Bodoland Peoples Front (BPF)
  4. Ranjit Dutta of BJP
  5. Rishiraj Kaundiniya of AAP
  6. Kamaleswar Swargiary of Voters Party International
  7. Pradip Bhandari (Independent)
  8. Premlaj Ganju of Congress
    Lakhimpur Lok Sabha seat:
  9. Pradhan Baruah of BJP
  10. Dhiren Kachari of Communist Party of India
  11. Bikram Ramchiary (Independent)
  12. Deba Nath Pait (Independent)
  13. Gobin Biswakarma (Independent)
  14. Uday Shankar Hazarika (Independent)
  15. Biren Bailung of Voters Party International
  16. Ghana Kanta Chutiya of Congress
  17. Pallab Pegu of Socialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)

The results will be declared on June 4.

Also Read: Polling for 15 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats in Northeast underway, 96 candidates in fray


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *