Voting in 6 Constituencies Today

Bhopal:Polling will be held in six constituencies in Madhya Pradesh today (Friday) in the first phase of the Lok Sabha elections. Of the 29 parliamentary constituencies in the BJP-ruled state, Shahdol, Mandla (both reserved for Scheduled Tribes), Jabalpur, Balaghat, Chhindwara and Sidhi will go to polls in the first phase today. Altogether, these constituencies cover 13 districts and 27 assembly segments.

Voting will start at 7 am and end at 6 pm in most places. Due to security reasons, polling will be held from 7 am to 4 pm in Baihar, Lanji and Paraswada assembly segments of the Naxal-affected Balaghat constituency, the state’s chief electoral officer Anupam Rajan told reporters on Thursday.

As many as 88 candidates — 81 men and seven women — are in the fray across the six constituencies. Jabalpur has the highest 19 candidates while Shadold has the lowest ten candidates in the fray. As many as 13,588 polling booths have been set up in the state. The total number of registered voters in the six constituencies is 1,13,09, 636 (57,20,780 male, 55,88,669 female and 187 third gender).

Arrangements for shelter, water and ORS (oral rehydration solution) have been made at polling booths in view of the hot weather. A helicopter has been stationed in the Naxal-hit Balaghat district while an air ambulance would be available in Jabalpur to meet any eventuality.

As many as 192 flying squad teams and 233 Static Surveillance Teams will be deployed across the six constituencies. The election commission wants a maximum turn-out at polling booths. The second, third and fourth phase of the elections in MP will take place on April 26, May 7 and May 13. In 2019, the BJP had won 28 out of the 29 Lok Sabha seats while the Congress had managed to win only one seat — Chhindwara.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *